Magic in the Third Eye

Magic in the Third Eye

"My mind is open to new vision. I expand my awareness through my higher self."

The all-seeing eye. The knowledge of all, the seeker of truth. The sixth chakra in the main chakra system. Interesting that this chakra is the sixth and also considered by some as the "Sixth Sense." In Sanskrit, this chakra is called Ajna. Ajna means to command or summon as well as authority and unlimited powers. It is the center of our spiritual wisdom and insight. It is our intuition. This chakra is located between the eyebrows and sits at the top of the spinal column—the space where we can use wisdom, insight, and intuition to see past the physical.

We can tell that this chakra is out of balance or not activated when we find ourselves lacking trust in our intuition or if we find ourselves denying problems or challenges. You may only be able to see the physical reality of life. You may carry a lot of fear regarding your inner wisdom, lack awareness of the obvious, or experience perception issues. You may find yourself in codependent or abusive relationships. Have difficulty planning the future, memory loss, might be easy to deceive, lack joy, or may live in chaos in general. 

There is even such a thing as having an excess of third-eye chakra energy. To identify this, you may find yourself constantly fantasizing, possibly including hallucinations. As a result, you might have difficulty concentrating or experience delusions. Some experience nightmares, obsessiveness, self-centeredness, or even turmoil. 

Our goal is to have an open and balanced chakra; when we obtain this with the Ajna chakra, we can see the big picture. We can perceive and influence spiritual planes and have a keen and strong intellect. We have a strong intuition that we follow and trust. We can use our imagination to establish goals and take action readily. We no longer see things as "good" vs. "bad" or "I" vs. "You." Instead, we see things as Unity and One. We are not just observing reality but perceiving it all as sacred and whole.

The Ajna Chakra governs parts of the physical body, including the brain's nervous system, ears, nose, sinuses, hypothalamus, the left hemisphere of the brain, and the left eye. It can affect the physical body also, so in addition to this chakra showing us that it might need love in the ways described above, being out of balance physically may also show symptoms. Some examples are stroke, neurological disturbances, blindness, deafness, total spinal difficulties, learning disabilities, brain tumors, hemorrhage, seizures, headaches, blurred vision, eyesight problems, nightmares, dyslexia, brain tumors, pain, hormone imbalances, insomnia, neuralgia, and nervous breakdown. From a mental and emotional standpoint, we can look at self-evaluation, truth, intellectual abilities, feelings of adequacy, openness to the ideas of others, the ability to learn from experiences, and emotional intelligence. 

As you can see, this chakra is very spiritual plane-related. It is the seat of vision and perception. This chakra is also associated with the pituitary Gland and the Pineal Gland. When opening this chakra, you are also activating and getting closer to intuitive abilities and contemporary gifts. Here is a list of a few:

  • Aeromancy- divination by interpreting clouds or atmospheric conditions.
  • alomancy- diving conducted by the fall or thrown of salt
  • aura reading
  • catoptromancy- divination using a mirror
  • clairvoyance- clear seeing
  • cleromancy- the casting of bones or stones for signs
  • crystallomancy- seeing the future in a crystal ball
  • deja vu- sensing an event that has already occurred
  • gyromancy- divination that starts with the drawing of a circle and letters
  • hydromancy- interpreting signs by the appearance and movement of liquid.
  • Libanomancy- gaining info by reading the curl of smoke-usually incense.
  • oculomancy- divining by gazing into another's eyes and interpreting reactions
  • precognition
  • scrying- telling the future through a crystal ball or relative surface.
  • tarot reading
  • tasseography- fortune-telling through interpreting tea leaves, coffee grounds, or other sediments.
  • transfiguration- transformation into a more spiritual state
  • astral projection
  • prophecy
  • chiromancy- palm reading
  • dream interpretation
  • energetic healing
  • feng shui
  • metagnomy- use of a physician in a trance
  • past life regression
  • and most additional forms of divination

After reading all this information about the Third Eye Chakra, you can see that this chakra is very deeply connected to how we view our world, how we see and view the truth being shown to us. For example, the way we can evaluate our enlightenment and awareness. The yantra used to depict this chakra is a triangle called a trikona, within a circle, with two lotus petals, one on each side. Signifying a meeting point of ida, pingala, and sushumna nadis, respectfully. The yantra moves deeper in meaning with an AUM symbol in the center of the triangle, the seed syllable for this chakra that we will discuss in the next blog.

I am very excited to dive deep into the Third Eye Toolbox coming up next. Stay tuned for tips and tricks that I use to activate, open, and balance my Ajna Chakra and how I can bring balance to this space. Moving into this toolbox, we will focus more on meditation practices. I am very excited to share. Stay tuned!

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.